No. 1 men’s swimming and diving take 12 wins on day one of TCU duel

AUSTIN, Texas – Texas’ No. 1 men’s swimming and diving picked up 12 wins over TCU on Friday afternoon on senior day at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center to take a 189-100 lead on day one of the doubleheader meet. two days.

The Longhorns were paced by senior by Cameron Auchinachie wins in the 50 free (19.74) and 100 free (43.32), junior Caspar Raven wins in the 100m breaststroke (52.77) and 200m breaststroke (1:53.50) and sophomore by Noé Duperré doubled in the 1 meter (373.58) and 3 meter (408.90) springboard competitions.

In total, Texas earned points for the top two places in 11 of 14 individual events and had the top three scores in nine.


  • Texas opened the session with a sweep of the 200 medley relay with a freshman Anthony Grimm, Raven, senior Alvin Jiang and senior Daniel Kruger clocked the best time of 1:25.28.
  • The Longhorns went 1-2-3 in the 1,000 freestyle, led by a freshman by Luke Hobson time of 8:48.09, followed by David Johnstone at 8:48.28 and Coby Carrozza at 8:55.73.
  • Junior Peter Larson clocked a 1:34.96 to win the 200 free and Drew Kibler swam in 1:35.65 to place second.
  • Senior Jason Park took over the 100 (47.04), followed by the second Chris O’Connor (47.55), Jiang (47.74) and rookie Nathan Neighborhood (49.17).
  • In the 100m breaststroke, Raven and senior Charlie Scheinfeld (53.44) won the first two places.
  • The 200 fly had four Longhorns in front, led by a sophomore At Carson Foster’s mark of 1:41.79 and followed by senior Andre Koustik (1:44.67), junior Cole Crane (1:44.70) and Junior Sam Artman (1:44.79).
  • Auchinachie and Krueger went 1-2 in the 50 free and 100 free, with Krueger posting times of 19.92 and 43.55, respectively, while Kibler finished third in the 100 free with a time of 44.59 .
  • Duperre’s double victories marked the springboard events. 1 meter springboard, second year Brendan McCourt finished second with 361.64 points and senior Andrew Gawin-Parigini third with 349.73 points. The 3 meter springboard had junior André Harnais finished second with 399.83 points, while Gawin-Parigini collected 378.00 points for another third place finish.
  • O’Connor won the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:44.30, with Hobson (1:45.31), Quarterman (1:47.42) and Carman (1:49.45) claiming the two, three and four spots respectively.
  • Caspar won the 200m breaststroke with junior Jake Foster and senior Braden Vineyards finishing second and third and junior respectively Paul Degradé claim fourth place.

Competition resumes Saturday at 11 a.m. with long-course swimming events and a demonstration of men’s and women’s platform.

Comments are closed.